Parabolic Trough Power Plant Urat

The Urat parabolic trough power plant is a 100 MW solar thermal power plant based on the EuroTrough collector. The collector field consists of 352 loops or 16,896 individual solar collector elements (SCEs). A solar collector assembly (SCA) consists of 12 solar collector elements, each 12 m long. The design was adapted to the locally very high wind loads and Chinese standards. In this project, schlaich bergermann partner is responsible for the EuroTrough technology and engineering control during production and assembly of the collector field.

Concentrating Solar Power,
Urat, Inner Mongolia
China Shipbuilding New Power (CSNP)
Markus Balz


Technical Data

Aperture width
6 m
SCEs per Collector Assembly
SCE length
12 m
loop length
600 m
Total aperture area
1.150.000 m²
sbp sonne gmbh


Google Maps

Mit dem Laden der Karte akzeptieren Sie die Datenschutzerklärung von Google.
Mehr erfahren

Karte laden

Our product used in this project

Parabolic Troughs

Proven state of the art for CSP

Over the years, sbp sonne developed and licensed three different types of parabolic trough collectors: the EuroTrough, the HelioTrough and the UltimateTrough. We are now focusing on the distribution and commercialization of the ‘HelioTrough’ and ‘UltimateTrough’, as these collector developments have been proven to significantly reduce costs and improve performance for large scale power plants.

The UltimateTrough collector for Concentrating Solar Power (CSP) plants is the world’s largest and most advanced parabolic trough collector. Measurements indicate that efficiency of the UltimateTrough is over 10% higher as compared to the benchmark collector.

More about this technology