50 MW Parabolic Trough Power Plant Morón 1

The parabolic trough power plant Morón is a 50 MW solar thermal power plant based on the EuroTrough design licensed by schlaich bergermann und partner. The collector field consists of 116 Loops respectively 5,568 solar collector elements (SCEs). One solar collector assembly (SCA) consists of 12 solar collector elements whith a length of 12 m each. The design was adapted to higher local wind loads.

Concentrating Solar Power,
Morón de la Frontera, Spain
CSP Solutions Consult, Cologne
Acciona Energy / Idom
Markus Balz


Technical Data

Aperture width
6 m
SCE length
12 m
SCEs per SCA
Loop length
600 m
Aperture area
380,000 m²
schlaich bergermann und partner


Google Maps

Mit dem Laden der Karte akzeptieren Sie die Datenschutzerklärung von Google.
Mehr erfahren

Karte laden

Our product used in this project

Parabolic Troughs

Proven state of the art for CSP

Over the years, sbp sonne developed and licensed three different types of parabolic trough collectors: the EuroTrough, the HelioTrough and the UltimateTrough. We are now focusing on the distribution and commercialization of the ‘HelioTrough’ and ‘UltimateTrough’, as these collector developments have been proven to significantly reduce costs and improve performance for large scale power plants.

The UltimateTrough collector for Concentrating Solar Power (CSP) plants is the world’s largest and most advanced parabolic trough collector. Measurements indicate that efficiency of the UltimateTrough is over 10% higher as compared to the benchmark collector.

More about this technology